Code Committee

Our Code is the ultimate responsibility of the IMPRESS Board. The Code Committee is composed of experts who are responsible for advising the Board on the Code, and for drafting our guidance on the Code. The Committee was recruited through a fair and open process. 

Code Committee Members

It includes ex officio members: IMPRESS Chair Walter Merricks CBE, and IMPRESS Board members Andrea Wills (who chairs the Committee) and Shelina Janmohamed

The other members of the IMPRESS Code Committee are:

Vanessa Baird, Co-Editor of New Internationalist magazine. Her journalistic career, spanning four decades, includes local newspapers and radio in the UK and working in Peru during the tumultuous 1980s. As co-editor and writer at New Internationalist, she has focused on issues relating to human rights, and social, economic and environmental justice, publishing in magazines and books. She is an Amnesty International Human Rights Media Award winner and has a keen interest in media independence, ethics and reform.


Gavin PhilipsonGavin Phillipson, is a Professor of Law at the University of Bristol and has been a visiting scholar at the Universities of Melbourne and the LSE. He is author of Media Freedom under the UK Human Rights Act (2006, OUP) and has written over twenty articles and book chapters on media and free speech issues including the right to be forgotten. His work on privacy has been cited by the highest courts in the UK and overseas and he has spoken on media freedom and other issues at leading Universities around the world in the US, Canada, Hong Kong, Singapore, France and the Netherlands. He was the academic member of the Ministry of Justice Working Group on libel reform and his work in that area was cited extensively by Parliament's Joint Committee on Human Rights.  

Matt Walsh is a senior lecturer in journalism at the School of Journalism, Media and Culture at Cardiff University and former head of the department of journalism, media and performance studies at the University of Northampton. Prior to joining the University of Northampton in 2014, he spent 20 years as a journalist in broadcast and digital media. In 1999, Matt joined ITN from the BBC as a reporter and rose to become deputy editor of the ITV News Channel. He covered stories such as the 9/11 attacks, the Iraq war and the 7/7 suicide bombings. He also executive produced political programmes, including ITV’s coverage of the 2004 American presidential election. In 2006, he moved to The Times to establish the multimedia journalism department before returning to ITN as an executive producer. Matt combines teaching with industry work for international organisations, such as Thomson Reuters and Al Jazeera, and writing a PhD on the impact of social media on political journalism.

Paul WraggDr Paul Wragg, Professor of Media Law at the University of Leeds. His research speciality is in press regulation and press freedom. He has written extensively about the Leveson inquiry into press culture and its compatibility with the notion of press freedom. His work has been published in leading journals in the UK and abroad. He was recently cited by the Australian Law Reform Commission in its inquiry into Australian privacy law. Author of  'A Free and Regulated Press: Defending Coercive Independent Press Regulation' (Hart Publishing, 2020) and co-editor of 'Comparative Privacy and Defamation' (Edward Elgar, 2020) with Professor András Koltay.  

Emma Jones is a writer and journalist. She is a regular columnist and reporter and interviewer for The New European. Emma is a former editor of Smash Hits magazine. As a news and showbusiness reporter, she worked for the Sunday Mirror, Mail on Sunday and the Sun (youngest Fleet St. columnist and Bizarre Deputy Editor.) Her television work includes live presenting for Channel Four and ITV. Emma is Deputy Chair of Governors at Tidemill Academy, in Deptford, London.