Appointment Panel

The IMPRESS Appointment Panel is an independent subcommittee of the IMPRESS Board, which is responsible for appointing Board members and members of the Regulatory Committee through a fair and open process. The Panel itself was recruited through a fair and open process. It is also responsible for setting the rates of remuneration for the Chair and Board members.

Two members of the IMPRESS Board, Walter Merricks CBE and David Robinson, sit on the Appointment Panel.

Appointment Panel Members


Chris Kenny (Chair) is the former Chief Executive of the Legal Services Board, the overarching independent regulator of the legal sector. He previously held senior posts in central government, regulation and the private sector, and was for six years a member of the Board of Ombudsman Services. He undertook a major review of the Financial Ombudsman Service with Lord Hunt of Wirral in 2007-08. He is now Chief Executive of the Medical and Dental Defence Union of Scotland, Chair of Historic Churches Scotland and a Director of the Association of Financial Mutuals.

Caroline Instance MCIPD (Vice-chair) was appointed Chief Executive of Opra in 1996, after 18 years in human resources, to set up the UK’s first statutory regulator for pensions. From 2002 to 2011 she was CEO of the two UK professional bodies for actuaries. She facilitated improvement to their self-regulatory mechanisms and assisted in the merger of the bodies and development of a new Privy Council Charter. She is currently a Non Executive Director of Omnilife, a trustee of Age UK West Sussex, Brighton & Hove and Chairman of Thakeham Parish Council.

Jean Gray (Panel Member) is former Editorial Director at the Royal College of Nursing’s publishing company where she was responsible for the group’s 12 nursing titles and websites, as well as Nursing Standard which became the UK’s leading weekly nursing title. Jean began her career as a local newspaper journalist working on a range of weekly titles in North and East London.  She is currently a Trustee and Media Adviser with the Mary Seacole Trust, a charity that promotes the legacy of Jamaican nurse Mary Seacole to campaign for diversity and a more inclusive society, with a particular focus on inspiring young people and promoting diverse leadership in both private and public organisations.

Paul McFarlane (Panel Member) is a Partner at Capsticks LLP who has 25 years’ experience advising, mainly employers in the public sector, on all aspects of employment and discrimination law. His particular specialisms include advising on: complex discrimination and whistleblowing claims, advising on working time and industrial relations issues. He regularly writes on employment law issues in the national, HR and legal press. Paul is also Deputy Chair of the Employment Lawyers Association (ELA); a Board Director with Black Solicitors Network (BSN); and an External Assessor for the College of Policing. In 2019, Paul was named Chambers and Partners Minority Lawyer of the Year for his work in trying to improve diversity and inclusion within the legal profession.

Damian Tambini (Appointment Panel Member) is a distinguished Policy Fellow in the Department of Media and Communications at the London School of Economics, where he also serves as Programme Director for the MSc Media and Communications (Governance). From 2002 to 2006 he was Head of the Programme in Comparative Media Law and Policy at Oxford University. He is the author of numerous peer-reviewed articles on media and telecommunications policy, co-author of Digital Dominance: The Power of Google, Amazon, Facebook and Apple (2018) and Codifying Cyberspace: Self-regulation of Converging Media (2008) and co-editor of Cyberdemocracy (1998) and Citizenship, Markets, and the State (2000).